Egg-citing Retrieval Day

Today is the day, the moment taking all the shots and medicines pay off. Still hoping for 20 eggs to retrieved, goals are goals. I am extremely nervous as in less than 2 hours. I will be eggless and hopefully not feeling so full. My ribs and whole lower abdomen area are extremely sore and hard like a rock. I feel like if an egg myself ready to be cracked up. The pain isn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, just more of uncomfortable feeling more than a painful one. I am starving though, due to the procedure being today at 1pm, I haven’t eaten since around 9pm yesterday night. So hopefully I wake up super hungry for my stomach’s sake.

Rewind to this weekend, I took my last Follistim shot on Friday and began my sodium and Gatorade binge. Saturday, I had tons of bacon and just tried to stay moving around, looked for shark teeth, protested, and took down some Trump signs. Sunday at 2am I had to take my HCG trigger shot in my lower back. I was freaking out about it as Elle was kind of nervous to give it to me but it went fine. Don’t look and just relax, it didn’t hurt near as bad as some of my shots that I had to get in my navel area. 2pm I confirmed that the Virgin Mary is alive and well with a positive pregnancy test. I can say it was the weirdest thing I have ever experienced in my life to see that positive test. But hey at least I’ll only be positive once.

From my understanding her is how the rest goes, my injection of human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) signals the follicles to prepare to ovulate. In ovulation, a follicle ruptures and expels the egg from the follicular sac, after which the egg will travel through the fallopian tube toward the uterus. Egg retrieval is timed to catch the eggs shortly before they would start this journey, at a point at which they are ready for fertilization but are still within their follicles and they can easily be found.

To retrieve the eggs, a surgeon places a device into the vagina that pushes a needle through the vagina wall and into the ovary. All of the movements are guided by ultrasound technology. Once the needle is inside the ovary, it is maneuvered to pierce one follicle after another. When the needle is inside a follicle, suction is applied to pull the follicular fluid out through a tube and into a test tube. Floating within the fluid extracted from the follicles will be the target of the procedure: the oocytes. The surgery, which generally lasts about 30 minutes, is done on an outpatient basis, and the woman usually goes home a few hours after the eggs are retrieved. This procedure is considered to be minor surgery.

So trying not to think about all that as I get ready for this surgery. Our doctor requested that we don’t have any fragrances on us at all. Unfortunately, I sweat a lot especially if I am nervous, so I am going to shower since I can’t wear my deodorant and boy do I need that.

Plus it is a Super Moon today! I am wearing Elle’s moonstone mala so all signs point to good things. Luna is giving me some courage for sure.

Wish me luck and see you on the other side, hopefully not the upside down.

Kay ♦ 

Leave a Reply

